Moments

slice of lifeA struggling kindergarten writer approached me while I was in a classroom today. I was sitting at the back table with my laptop. He came over to say hello.

“How’s your writing going?” I asked.

“Good,” he said.

Remembering the conversation his teacher and I had last week about his resistance to composing, I asked, “Want to type something on my computer? Your name or a sentence or note or something?”

He nodded and typed the four letters below.

Buew

“What does that say,” he said?

“I don’t know, you tell me.”

“Beautiful” he said, running his finger across the letters.

Then he pointed to me.

And then I picked my heart up off the floor and dried my eyes.

* * *

Moments like this burn into our minds and remind us why we work with young children. Their innocence, open-ness, and vulnerability make our jobs rewarding even after the most trying days.

But in the midst of testing demands and the barrage of other responsibilities that fall within the realm of a typical school day, we can easily forget the moments that make our days worthwhile.

 

th-3

 

Almost always, those important moments happen when we are connecting to others: Our students, colleagues, family, and friends. And these moments are what add up to make our life. They are worth noticing, most worthy of our time and attention.

What special moments are filling up your days? Are you giving them the mindfulness they deserve?

We’d love to hear.

For all the day’s Slice of Life Stories, head over to Two Writing Teachers..

Darla & Jen

 

 

5 thoughts on “Moments

  1. Oh my goodness, how did you not melt on the spot? How absolutely precious. Every time I walk down the hall and get smiles and hellos from students that remember me, or something I did with their class, it makes my heart melt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

