Dream

slice of life

“WE are the music makers, and WE are the dreamers of dreams.”

Do you recognize that line from one of our favorite childhood movies?

We’ve been thinking about dreams a lot since we read Lori Carter’s Slice of Life post last week. She referenced a beautiful Langston Hughes poem, and we haven’t been able to get it out of our minds.

Bring me all of your dreams,You-2

Her tie to teaching rang so true for us as we’ve seen a growing number of students who have no one protecting their dreams. The too rough fingers of the world are leaving their painful mark on many of our young learners, and more than ever, teachers need to be dream keepers.

With that said, we’ve collected some lovely quotes about dreams from authors and books. We hope they make you smile, feel all swirly inside, and remember to fiercely guard and nurture the dreams of every student who enters your classroom.

……………..

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”
― Dr. Seuss

“Hold fast to dreams,
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird,
That cannot fly.”
― Langston Hughes

“I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart for so long. If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can be together all the time.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.”
― Alice Sebold, The Lovely Bones

“I have dreamt in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind. And this is one: I’m going to tell it – but take care not to smile at any part of it.”
― Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights

“The problems of the world cannot possibly be solved by skeptics or cynics whose horizons are limited by the obvious realities. We need men who can dream of things that never were.”
― John Keats

“Sometimes I think my head is so big because it is so full of dreams”
― R.J. Palacio, Wonder

“Sometimes we get through adversity only by imagining what the world might be like if our dreams should ever come true.”
― Arthur Golden, Memoirs of a Geisha

“That which is dreamed can never be lost, can never be undreamed.”
― Neil Gaiman, The Sandman, Vol. 10: The Wake

“There is nothing like a dream to create the future.”
― Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

“So come with me, where dreams are born, and time is never planned. Just think of happy things, and your heart will fly on wings, forever, in Never Never Land!”

– J. M. Barrie, Peter Pan

To see all of the day’s Slice of Life stories head over to Two Writing Teachers.

~ Jen and Darla

10 thoughts on “Dream

  1. Wow – what a beautiful slice! I especially love the John Keats quote. Dreams are so important, and it’s heartbreaking to think that our students’ dreams aren’t nurtured. Thank you for the reminder to protect them!

    Like

  2. This is a beautiful slice because it is different and because it makes me think about things like dreams that I hold close. I’ve always loved the Langston Hughes poem and used to use it with students when we read Flowers for Algernon.

    Like

  3. “we’ve seen a growing number of students who have no one protecting their dreams.” This is the saddest sentence in the history of the world right now. This post. wow. Can I share it with my teachers?

    Like

  4. This is such a great collection of quotes. But I do believe the phrase “heart melodies” might be my favorite. Here’s hoping we can keep all children’s heart melodies safe.
    Thanks for such a lovely post.

    Like

  5. These are beautiful quotes, Jen. This post touched my heart. I’ve always felt that one of my most important jobs was to “guard and nurture the dreams” of my wide-eyed, eager Kindergarteners. Always to open doors, encourage, and support. I can only hope to do this with all of the students I’m so lucky to work with in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

